San Antonio Sexual Assault Attorneys
Protecting the Rights of the Accused & Arrested in Texas
Being charged with any crime in the state of Texas is an unfortunate circumstance, but it is difficult to imagine a charge with more potential repercussions than being arrested for sexual assault.
Sexual assault convictions have extremely harsh penalties, from large fines to many years spent in prison. However, they also have long-term consequences even after the initial penalties have been served in full. Your reputation, your livelihood, and even where you can live, will all be dictated by mandatory registration on a public sex offender list.
This is why it is critical to get in touch with our San Antonio sexual assault lawyers as quickly as possible. The sooner our criminal defense lawyers can begin analyzing the evidence and building a strong defense on your behalf, the stronger your case for your freedom will be. Trust The Law Office of Derek S. Ritchie, PLLC to support you against serious accusations.
Sexual Assault in Texas
According to Texas Penal Code § 220.011, any person who willfully and knowingly commits sexual acts against another individual may be charged with sexual assault. According to the law, consent may only be given if the other individual is an adult. Any sexual act with a minor, no matter if that individual gives or appears to give consent, is still is a crime and will be subject to the due penalties.
Some examples of sexual assault in Texas include:
- Forcing a child’s or minor’s genitals, sexual organs, or anus to touch the genitals, sexual organs, or anus of another individual, whether or not this includes the alleged offender
- Having a child’s or minor’s mouth be forced to touch the genitals, sexual organs, or anus of another individual, whether or not this includes the alleged offender
- Penetrating the sexual organs or anus of any person by any body part or tool, if the person has not given explicit permission and consent
- Penetrating the mouth of any person by any body part or tool, if the person has not given explicit permission and consent
Penalties for Sexual Assault
In the state of Texas, most sexual assault offenses are classified as a second-degree felony. A conviction can mean a fine of up to $10,000 and incarceration lasting up to 20 years. No matter what the exact conviction, however, Chapter 62 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure states that every individual who has been convicted of committing sexual assault must be registered as a sex offender with the local law enforcement authority. This listing will be available to the public for the remainder of that person’s life.
Take Proactive Steps against a Sexual Assault Charge
Being charged with the crime of sexual assault is not something to take lightly, especially because the charge can be made on the most insubstantial of evidence. The penalties for sexual assault are so extreme that even after serving your sentence, the chances of obtaining a job, renting an apartment or buying a house, or even being allowed to help the community, will be extremely limited or even impossible. The Law Office of Derek S. Ritchie, PLLC is determined to provide you with powerful support against unfair prosecution.